DuMA Biennial 2017

The sixth DUMA Biennial presents an invigorating survey of 70 works created by 57 regional contemporary artists, with exciting new works from artists both familiar and new to the museum.

To enter the competition artists must live within a 200 mile radius of Dubuque and only artwork created in the last two years qualified. For the 2017 DUMA Biennial, a record 208 artists from Iowa, Minnesota, Wisconsin, Illinois, and Missouri submitted over 580 works of art.

Special thank you to juror, Amanda C, Burdan, Ph.D.
Associate Curator of the Brandywine River Museum of Art.

Amanda Burdan
Amanda Burdan, Ph.D.


Sarah Krepp
Sarah Krepp
Evanston, Illinois
Color of Silence I and Color of Silence II


Tim Olson

Tim D. Olson
Dubuque, Iowa
The Arrow Head Motel Triptych (after Robert Campin’s Annunciation Triptych)


Amy Witte
Amy A. Witte
Chicago, Illinois
The Seven Deadly Twins


Hannah Goldsmith

Hannah Goldsmith
Earlville, Iowa
Agoraphobia I

Congratulations to the 2017 DUMA Biennial artists:

Marcia Babler, Libertyville, Illinois
Judy Bales, Fairfield, Iowa
Maureen O’Neill Bardusk, Galena, Illinois
Brian Bartlett, Madison, Wisconsin
Carrie Baxter, Freeport, Illinois
Beth Bird, Elizabeth, Illinois
Sara Slee Brown, Iowa City, Iowa
Stephanie Brunia, Oxford, Iowa
Gail Chavenelle, Dubuque, Iowa
Jim Davis, Fairfield, Iowa
Patrick Doughman, Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Erin Dragotto, Dubuque, Iowa
Velga Easker, Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Fred Easker, Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Pamela Echeverria, Cedar Falls, Iowa
Robert Felderman, Dubuque, Iowa
Alison Filley, Iowa City, Iowa
Michelle Fischer, Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Christine Flavin, Iowa City, Iowa
Dean Genth, Mason City, Iowa
Lynn Giles, Galena, Illinois
Hannah Goldsmith, Earlville, Iowa
Richard Hess, Galena, Illinois
Angie Huffman, Marion, Iowa
Peggy Johnston, Des Moines, Iowa
Larassa Kabel, Des Moines, Iowa
Mary Jo Kattelman, Newark, Missouri
Alda Kaufman, Dubuque, Iowa
Michael Knapstein, Middleton, Wisconsin
Sarah Krepp, Evanston, Illinois
Janet Lauroesch, Mt Vernon, Iowa
Nancy Lindsay, Anamosa, Iowa
Valerie Mangion, Muscoda, Wisconsin
Kassandra Mattia, North Liberty, Iowa
Kevin McCusker, Manchester, Iowa
Matthew J. Mikulice, Dubuque, Iowa
Diane D. Naylor, Fairfield, Iowa
Eileen Mueller Neill, Riverwoods, Illinois
Pam G. Ohnemus, Davenport, Iowa
Tim D. Olson, Dubuque, Iowa
Mary H. Phelan, Chicago, Illinois
Trey Reis, Des Moines, Iowa
Randy Richmond, Muscatine, Iowa
Robert H. Rivoire, Galena, Illinois
Karen Sebesta, Hudson, Wisconsin
Brian W. Stewart, St Paul, Minnesota
Amenda J. Tate Corso, West Des Moines, Iowa
Greg Thatcher, Fairfield, Iowa
Jeffrey A. Thompson, Des Moines, Iowa
Grant W. Thye, Grundy Center, Iowa
Lisa Towers, Dubuque, Iowa
Cindy Vondran, Rockton, Illinois
Joan A. Webster-Vore, Hudson, Iowa
Lacey Windschitl, Chicago, Illinois
Amy E. Witte, Ankeny, Iowa
Dawn R. Wohlford, Bettendorf, Iowa
Molly Wood, Des Moines, Iowa